Scientific Advisory Committee

Our partners are so important and we accomplish a lot together.

Ian Tannock, MD, PhD - Co-Chair


Dr. Ian F. Tannock obtained his PhD in 1968 from the Institute of Cancer Research, London, United Kingdom and graduated Medicine in 1974 from the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, United States of America. He is the Daniel E. Bergsagel Professor of Medical Oncology as well as a staff physician at the Princess Margaret Hospital and the University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario. His laboratory-based research focuses on physiological causes of resistance to chemotherapy in solid tumours and methods of overcoming them. His clinical research interests are prostate and breast cancers, fatigue and cognitive dysfunction associated with chemotherapy. Dr. Tannock was a member of the Board of Directors of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) from 2001-2004. He received the alumnus award from M.D. Anderson Hospital, Houston, USA (1989), the Warwick Prize from the National Cancer Institute of Canada (2003), an honorary degree (DSc) from London University, UK (2009), and the European Society of Medical Oncology (ESMO) award (2012), the first non-European to receive this award. He chairs the scientific audit committee of the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) and is a member of the EORTC Board.

Dr. Tannock was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in December 2013.